The aftermath

Hey guys!

I know it’s been a while since I updated my blog. So much has been going on, I barely had the time. 

So, let me give you guys a quick run down of the chain of events that happened since being back from the student exchange programme.

1) I got back home and went straight into re-tests. I had to do these because the tests were written while I was away. I felt so under pressure for these because it meant having to catch up on three months worth of missed lectures. 

It was kinda crazy to just read the textbook and write a test on content that I had no real idea about. 

Nevertheless, what I did, was soldier on and guess what? I managed to pull distinctions out the bag! 

Sometimes in the most stressful and busy times, you realize your true potential. You realize what you’re really made out of.

I mean, I was just hoping to pass given the circumstances (being away and missing lectures), but I superseded my expectations and goals. 

2) Exams were next! 

Aaaaahhh! Just as I finished writing the retests, whatdoyaknow- I was thrown into exams! Geez. No time to slack. I literally jumped out of the pot and in to the frying pan. It was so intense. The exams really took its toll on me. The expectations of these higher NQF level modules are seriously no joke! Well, I survived and lived to tell the tale. I am waiting for my results and will keep you guys updated with those.

3) I got a new car 😀

So while I was away, my little brother had an accident with my car and it was beyond repair. He’s okay though, don’t worry. In the wake of this, I got a new car and my parents made such a good choice. It’s a cute little Toyota Etios. ❤️🚗

4) I found out that my pronunciation of the words “Strength” & “Length” are correct, after years of being told I pronounce it wrong, hehe. 

I pronounce the “gth” at the end. Most people say “lenth” and “strenth”. I say “lenGTH” and “strenGTH”.  I went onto YouTube and searched for the correct academic pronunciation and I was right 🥇.

5) Assignments 🙈🙈🙈

So, literally a day after exams, I had to start working on my assignments! The stress never ends! I had missed the submission dates due to being away and the management team at college took mercy on my poor soul and allowed me the grace of handing my assignments in after exams. That really helped, but still, it was a crazy month. 

I put myself under pressure because I work best that way. I have high expectations and goals for myself during this academic year. I’m trying to attain my goals and still have a balanced life. I am a sister, a daughter, a friend, a granddaughter, a babysitter, a student, an SRC president, a human. I can only really do as much as I can without spreading myself too thin. That being said, I try my utmost best to fulfill all my roles with sincerity. 

I continue to learn about myself through times of adversity and hardships. I’ve had some great moments being back home and I’ve had some nasty experiences too. I won’t elaborate on the latter, it doesn’t deserve a shred of my energy. But the former, the great moments, they have made me grateful for being back!

Things I missed, that I now get to enjoy:

• Seeing my family ❤️

• Getting spoilt by my grandmother and getting all my favorite foods cooked for me

• Being able to walk around in “winter” with a short sleeve shirt on and NO jersey.

• Having my own wheels. Getting around whenever and wherever I want and just having that freedom and independence of having a car. I really missed this one when I was away. 

• Being able to see my Significant other 🌙🌷

• Now that I’m on holiday, I can make time to see my friends! 

• SEEING MY DOGGO! 

There’s actually quite a lot more to be grateful for but I think if I really start listing stuff, I will only probably finish this post tomorrow. I live in constant gratitude and appreciation for all that I’ve been blessed with. 

I just wanted to update you guys on the happenings so far. I’m only really getting a chance to settle in and relax, now. Because things have been hectic until now. But I will write again, and soon. 
Thanks for being part of this journey with me! 

I hope you guys are living your best life!

I’m leaving you with some pictures of my sisters graduation. It was such a proud moment for our family. 

2 thoughts on “The aftermath

  1. It so nice reading about the things that you have been doing and your life on this blog since I never get to catch up with you this gives me a chance to do so, you’re and amazing person and friend sona, ever since I met you, you were out fairy squad mother , you have the ability to lead and guide others. You’re such a warm person. I look forward to keep on reading all these blogs. Love you ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Naadzuu. For the warm sentiment and kind words. I’m sorry we don’t get to catch up as often as we’d like to. As you can tell from my posts, it’s been hectic. But thank you for your unwavering support and love! Love you too my friend. ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

