Chakras (चक्र)

Image result for chakras

Today…today my mind ventured on to chakras. I have been feeling out of balance this past week and usually, it is because one of my chakras are blocked or needs healing. Whilst trying to heal my out of balance chakras, I thought it would be a good idea to share some information about them with you.

Chakras are centers in our bodies in which energy flows through. They are located in the midline of the body. There are seven main Chakras and they contribute to our being, they govern our psychological properties.

In the last few years, I have been oddly aware and conscious of my chakras. I began to read books, articles, blogs and anything I could find with information pertaining to them. I started noticing that when you heal your certain chakras, the area of life which they govern, suddenly becomes healed too. That when you open your chakras and align them, you experience balance and equilibrium in life. To say I am fascinated with them, would be an understatement. I have conditioned myself to listen to my chakras when a certain area of my life seems to be going awry, I seek to heal the chakra associated with that area in life, and soon things begin to fall into place again.

I have found a simplified guide, a sort of “Chakras for beginners” on a site called MindBodyGreen. I hope to educate you on the main aspects of each chakra very basically. Just so you can get into my head a bit more, and understand the inner workings of my mind.


1) Root Chakra – Muladhara (मूलाधार)

Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.

Literally translated, Muladhara means: “Root support”

Image result for root chakra

2) Sacral Chakra – Svadhishthana (स्वाधिष्ठान)

Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in.

Literally translated, Svadhishthana means: “one’s own base”.

Image result for sacral chakra

3) Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura (मणिपूर)

Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

Literally translated, Manipura means: “jewel city”.

Image result for solar plexus chakra

4) Heart Chakra – Anahata (अनाहत) 

Our ability to love.

Location: Center of chest just above the heart.

Literally translated, Anahata means: “unhurt, unstruck, and unbeaten”.

Image result for heart chakra

5) Throat Chakra – Vishuddha (विशुद्ध)

Our ability to communicate.

Location: Throat.

Literally translated, Vishuddha means: “especially pure”.

Image result for throat chakra

6) Third Eye Chakra – Ajna (आज्ञा)

Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

Location: Forehead between the eyes.

Literally translated, Ajna means: “command”.

Image result for third eye chakra

7) Crown Chakra – Sahasrara (सहस्रार)

The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

Location: The very top of the head.

Literally translated, Sahasrara means: “thousand-petaled”.

Image result for crown chakra

If you have managed to get this far in this post, Thank you. This is by no means religious propaganda. In fact, there is a huge difference between religion and spirituality.

Definition Religion: The belief in and worship of a superhuman controlling power, especially a personal God or gods.

Definition Spirituality: The quality of being concerned with the human spirit or soul as opposed to material or physical things.

Chakras are simply energy centers. They may have Sanskrit names, but they are by no means directed specifically to Hinduism exclusively. Anybody can practice aligning their chakras. A simple way of doing this is by practicing Yoga.

Awareness comes from within. Trust your intuition. Trust your gut feeling. It’s usually right. Be guided by the light within you, be unapologetically you. Living with balance usually brings peace and contentment.

I wish you all peace and light.

Have a blissful week ahead.

P.S – I found the images on google. A simple search brings up hundreds of variations of the chakra symbols. I am not claiming that these images are my own.




2 thoughts on “Chakras (चक्र)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s